This year, the Lunar New Year falls on Friday, February 12 and in terms of the Chinese New Year it is the Year of the Ox. It’s called the Lunar New Year because it marks the first new moon of the lunisolar calendar that is┬átraditional to many east Asian countries including China, South Korea, and Vietnam, which are regulated by the cycles of the moon and sun.